Weight Watchers – Week One

Maxine Diet

 

One week of Weight Watchers down; the rest of my life to go!  Okay, I say that in half jest because yes, I know Weight Watchers is not a diet – it is a lifestyle change – and I am trying oh so hard to embark on it.

I think I’m off to a good start.  According to the scale this morning, I lost 12 point something pounds this past week.  Now, that is a bit too drastic and shocking … so much so that I wasn’t jumping up and down on the scale like they do in the commercials.  I’m wondering if my brand new bathroom scale is a little off kilter.  My boyfriend insists it’s accurate but who wouldn’t want a scale that under-weighs you to be?  So while I am happy that I dropped some weight – for which, by the way, Weight Watchers rewarded me by lowering my daily point allowance – I would like to see what the scale says next week.

Of course if I lose 12 more pounds this week, I probably have some health issue to worry about…

Anyway, 12 pounds or not, this week was a pain in the @$$.  Not on the type of food per se.  Believe it or not, I am actually a relatively healthy eater.  I’m a big fan of salads with, like, actual vegetables in them, and I love most fruits.  In fact, I love raspberries so much that if there is a heaven, and I’m lucky enough to make it there, it will have raspberries.  Lots and lots and lots and lots of raspberries.  I could eat bananas everyday and a nice ripe watermelon is a slice of perfection.  I tend to stay away from fried foods, sweets, and most junk foods, as well as red meat.

So, no, my problem is not the type of food.  It’s the quantity.  I eat wayyyy too much in a single sitting.  A whole Chipotle burrito down the hatch in one take.  A salad serving bowl full of spaghetti with meat sauce.  An entire packet of ravioli for one meal.  You get the idea.

Now, I’m eating 1/4 of what I had been eating last week.  I sit down in the evening with my little half cup of whole black beans on top of a half cup of organic brown rice with 2 teaspoons of fat free salsa, and I’m not going to lie, I’m still hungry after eating it.  The food is good, I will admit.  In fact, I have been pleasantly surprised by how much I have enjoyed the meals themselves.

For example, I haven’t eaten oatmeal since the day before never.  I always thought I didn’t like it.  Then I tried it again this past week, and wow.  It’s actually pretty good.  Especially if I make it with almond milk instead of water and I throw in a half cup of berries.  I would even go so far as to say yummmmm.

I also tried quinoa for the first time.  I always thought quinoa was an exotic vegetable that only food snobs eat.  I had no idea it was a grain and that it is actually quite tasty!  I have really enjoyed it with my frozen veggie burger patties and my half a cup of whole black beans.

But man … I feel hungry all the time.  I am trying to combat the tummy growls with both morning and afternoon snacks – those that are worth less than 2 points on Weight Watchers so things like fruit, edamame, and popcorn – and I have upped my coffee intake to something like 2 pots a day now (and black coffee with 1 tbsp of creamer is only worth 1 point!), but they are only temporary fixes.  Within 20 – 30 minutes, I’m hungry again.

So I’m drinking lots of water.  I have drunk enough water this week to sink the Titanic all over again and my toilet and I have gotten quite close.

But I know I just have to hang in there.  My body will adjust to the smaller volume of food sometime … I hope.  I’ll keep chugging the sparkling water (I find the carbonation gives me a feeling of being full) until that bright day comes.

The other thing I missed this week?  Wine.  Oh so wonderful and glorious wine.

wine ecard

 

Now, I have to clarify that I gave up wine before I went on Weight Watchers.  The last night I had any alcohol was New Year’s Eve, and I gave it up because, just like the food I eat, I drink wayyy too much wine.  I was a 2 or 3 glasses a night kind of gal, so not only was I drinking more calories in an evening than I’m eating all day these days, but I just felt like blech.

Imagine the zombies from The Walking Dead … that was me after four straight nights of drinking wine.  I lurched around, dragging one foot behind me, breathing through my mouth, and functioning mentally at a brain stem level.  I knew I had to cut it back.  And because I don’t trust myself to only have one glass of wine when a bottle is open, I have cut it out entirely (for the time being).

Me ... after a few glasses of wine every night for a week!

Me … after a few glasses of wine every night for a week!

And prior to Weight Watchers starting this past week, I was actually doing great without the wine.  I have felt soooo much better during the day – much more energized and alert – and every night I fall into deep, wonderful, beautiful, zombie-defeating sleep that lets me wake up feeling refreshed and ready to go.

Which is the argument I’m having with myself as I struggle to not start drinking wine again.  I’m trying to remind myself of how good it feels not to drink it.  And it has actually worked.  I haven’t given into the craving yet.  But a craving it has been this past week especially.

Let’s hope that goes away too.

About jnglcat21

An aspiring writer who has a deep love for animals, tall ships, books, and anything that is 3,000 or more years old
This entry was posted in Some Old Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

