Doing My Part… A Part… Some Part…

Tiger (1)

Every week I receive People magazine.  And every week I read about people (ha!) that do amazing things to help the world.  I read about ambassadors and spokespeople and volunteers.  I read about charities, causes, and organizations that try to make a difference.

And every week I think to myself that I am going to start doing more.

Ok, but how?  Most of these causes and charities want donations – understandably so – but as you can probably guess, a job in museum education means I’m not exactly bringin’ home the bacon.  I donate what I can, and I know every little bit helps, but we don’t need to talk about how little those bits coming from me are.  There’s volunteering, of course.  And I do volunteer once to twice a week with an incredible education non-profit, 826LA, which helps K-12 students with their writing skills.

But I want to do more.  I want to be an ambassador.  Yep.  Okay fine, one step at a time.  So the question becomes:  what is my first step?

This week, it finally dawned on me that I have an outlet for causes I care about.  I have a blog.  Duh.  And I decided to add another dimension to The Realist Adjusts the Sails.  This blog will continue to chronicle my exciting adventures on bikes, hikes (with dogs), books, crafts (when I get to them), and travels.  But I also want to dedicate space here to the two causes I am particularly committed to:  wildlife protection and education.

And that is why I have added a new page to the site.  Check it out because I will be posting the different initiatives I am involved with on that page.  I will include links to the petitions I have signed, the letters I have sent to various government officials, and special events in which I participate.

I will also be rambling about these causes more frequently here.

This is going to be my new favorite social media tool, I can already tell...

This is going to be my new favorite social media tool, I can already tell…

Ramblings that will be caused in part by my recent joining of Causes, a social media site for … yeah, you got it.  No need to spell it out here.  I am excited to stay more in tune with the causes I care so much about, and to share those causes with anyone and everyone.  I look forward to supporting these initiatives and the amazing work that organizations and charities dedicated to them are doing.

And then maybe one day, hopefully, I will become an ambassador.

About jnglcat21

An aspiring writer who has a deep love for animals, tall ships, books, and anything that is 3,000 or more years old
This entry was posted in Some Old Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

