Changing the Diet – eh, Lifestyle

Like any other holiday season aficionado, I consumed entirely too much sugar throughout the month of December.  Peppermint mochas.  Cookies.  Candies.  Pastries.  Pies.  I feel a diabetic coma coming on just thinking about everything I ate.

And I know I’m getting old because I learned this past season that eating a box of Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Jo-Jo’s for dinner does not … settle as well as it once had.  In other words, if I have experienced the highs and lows of mass sugar consumption in the past, I did not notice them.  I could subsist on processed sugar, and maybe I’d feel a slight buzz of energy from eating my weight in whipped cream, but I never (as far as I can recall anyway) felt a crash when that buzz inevitably departed.

This season, I crashed so many times, I made Wile E. Coyote look like a graceful ballerina.

And, whew, I felt it.  I felt it as keenly as I’m sure Wile E. Coyote feels the anvil when it crushes him into the pavement.  Sluggishness.  Sleepiness.  Overall ickiness.  Sugar— thou art my enemy forevermore, I fear.  At least mass quantities of thou art.

So, about halfway through the holiday month, I decided to switch up the old diet.  Get away from the sugar cookies coated in sugary frosting and head towards (dum, dum, dum!):  high energy foods.  In my continuing fight against chronic fatigue, I have spent many a’ hour asking the Almighty Google about foods that can help increase energy levels, and I went back to those lists for grocery shopping inspiration.

Brown rice, beans, yogurt, almonds, kale, spinach, fruit, eggs, quinoa, sweet potatoes, edamame, English muffins, oatmeal, veggie burgers.  I stocked up.  And I came home motivated.  Boxes of cookies and truffle chocolates still sit on the top of our refrigerator, but I dove into this high energy foods diet with all the gusto I tend to use when I throw myself into a new initiative.

Have I felt a difference?  Well, one thing I have noticed is the feeling of being full.  Because in addition to the high energy foods I am now consuming, I have been eating more frequently throughout the day (as recommended by many of the lists that contain these power foods).

And it is amazing how much a mid-morning snack and a mid-afternoon snack help!  I remember the first day I tried this new eating plan, and that night was the first in a looong time I didn’t come home and immediately start eating the kitchen counter because I was too hungry to make it to the refrigerator.

It’s like finding out Santa Claus does exist.

Energy though?  I can’t say with any certainty that I have experienced any changes in my energy levels.  I have noticed the protein heavy lunch I tend to consume (either a kale or spinach salad with quinoa, mixed nuts, feta cheese, and balsamic vinaigrette or a veggie burger patty with a side of edamame) has made the afternoons feel less…. afternoon-ey.  You know that 3pm slump?  It hasn’t felt quite as painful since I started this new diet.

And ugh.  I need to stop using that word.  Diet.  When I joined Weight Watchers about this time last year, I was insistent I use “lifestyle change” rather than diet since, of course, diet implies a temporary adjustment.  Diet also implies a sense of going without.  You’re dieting, which means essentially, you are giving something up.  I don’t feel that way about eating high energy foods because it’s not like I’m going to stop eating things I love too.

I will still order a cinnamon donut every Sunday from the local café down the street from my new apartment.

But I want to feel better during the day.  I want my system to feel good because it is drawing nutrients, actual nutrients, from the food I am consuming.  I want that 3pm slump to continue being less painful, and maybe even one day, lighten to the point where I no longer notice it.  And that is why I’m not going to worry myself with weight loss.  Yes, I need to lose weight.  And yes, it would be fabulous to drop a few (hundred) pounds before my October wedding.  However, weight loss is not figuring into my 2015 resolutions here.  I want to focus more on being healthy.  Eating healthy, exercising, sleeping well.  I want those elements of life lined up more before I try to tackle taking the pounds off.  Then I feel I really will be successful.

And now!  Off to seize the day!!  Off to take this newfound energy and … zzzzzz……..

falling-asleep-at-work

About jnglcat21

An aspiring writer who has a deep love for animals, tall ships, books, and anything that is 3,000 or more years old
This entry was posted in Some Old Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changing the Diet – eh, Lifestyle

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    Adjusts the sails? Or did you mean adjusts the scales! Happy new year, anyway!

Leave a Reply

