Burnout Is Not Quite Burned Out

I know everyone complains about time moving too fast.  Heck, I complain all the time – ha! – about time needing to hit the slow down button.  I mean, sometimes it really does feel like I blink and six weeks has gone by.

And that is exactly what happened to me.  I blinked.  And it has been 3 weeks since I last wrote anything for The Realist Adjusts the Sails.

Of course part of why I have been quiet here is because my work life has taken charge.  These past few weeks, and the next few as April comes to a close, have been and will be a blur of workshops, trainings, programs, special events, and an annual museum conference in Atlanta.

I’m at that point in the whirlwind where I’m waiting for May 1.  Just get me through April.  That’s all I ask.  Get me through April.

And with that mantra pounding inside my head, my Burnout Recovery has been more or less on a hiatus.  I have so much to do I can’t do much else but focus on everything I have to do.  I don’t have time – ha! – to think about burnout.

things-i-dont-feel-like-doing-today

Maybe that can be a recovery suggestion:  keep yourself so flippin’ busy, you can’t think about being burned out.

With that said, however, I have devoted a few minutes here and there to some of the Burnout Recovery suggestions I mentioned in my previous post.

 

Write down three good things that happen to you every day, and why they happened, in a journal.

Now, admittedly, my three good things journal has morphed slightly into a more traditional journal.  I have been using it as a tool to think more deeply about burnout, and what I want to do next regarding my job.  I still try to throw the three good things in there, but sometimes, it’s just gotta be a place for me to take all the thoughts and questions bouncing around in my head and organize them so, a) they make sense, and b) I can start addressing them.

That has proven quite helpful actually.

But I need the soothing comfort of reflecting on good things that happen each day.  That helps too.

 

Ease Into Your Day.

I had mentioned spending about 10 – 15 minutes in the morning snuggling with Charlie, and I still do that most mornings.  And I still love it as much each time I do it as I always have.  But I gotta confess:  I don’t always take that time to enjoy the moment of snuggling with Charlie.  My mind wanders… I start thinking about work, what I need to do that day, how I’m going to get it all done, etc…  In other words, I am basically violating the very rule this recovery suggestion implies:  take 15 minutes of your day and DON’T think about what has caused the burnout.

 

Eat healthy and exercise.

Is there ANY lifestyle improvement systems that doesn’t have this one?!?!

 

Try something creative.

Talk about massive fail.  I wanted to start setting aside more time to work on some creative projects, like writing short stories or more in-depth essays for TRATS.  But I haven’t even so much as cracked open my laptop.

 

Re-Assess your goals and priorities.

Yeah, did that.  Wrote them all down.  In my three good things journal too.  And haven’t started pursuing a single one.  Wait.  I take that back.  I think I started working on one I had established for work.  But other than that?  Another epic fail.

Thank you Jim Davis for letting me use your Garfield cartoon illegally :)

Thank you Jim Davis for letting me use your Garfield cartoon illegally 🙂

I do want to take burnout recovery seriously.  I want to return to a balance I feel like I have lost in the past few months.  And I really think the major culprit holding me up is the insanity that is this month.  I started strong at the end of March, but once the 1st of April hit:  kuh-boom.  This plan went down faster than the Lusitania (and for the record: she sunk in 18 minutes).

And I am trying to take care of myself.  I have spent many evenings reading or listening to audiobooks – helps me relax at the end of a non-stop day.  I have been going into Kitten Rescue pretty much 3 days a week (well one day; two evenings).  I also started volunteering with an animal compound that is home to several farm animals.  So now I spend a few hours each Sunday helping take care of horses, a donkey, a deer, some wild boars, a handful of ducks and geese, and a cow the size of a dump truck.  I love it.  Love it.  Love it.  Love it.

And today, I celebrate 221 days of sobriety.

So I am going.  I am getting through.  But I’m not doing as well as I could be.  And that is why a return to Burnout Recovery needs to happen.  Now.  I especially need it in times like this – times of high stress, non-stop movement – because these suggestions can help with time management too.  They can help keep me calm, centered, and more relaxed, which will only make me more effective at getting everything done.

So yeah, burnout.  I am still working at it, but I still want to get you burned… out.

About jnglcat21

An aspiring writer who has a deep love for animals, tall ships, books, and anything that is 3,000 or more years old
This entry was posted in Challenging Challenges : Overcoming Life's Obstacles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

