New Adventures

As has, quite sadly, become my usual routine these days, I have not blogged in a long time. In a “too long” kind of time. I blame it on being busy and being exhausted from being busy, but I have missed it, and then, last night, I had a revelation: now is the absolute worst time for me to stop blogging. Because now has been one of the craziest adventures I have ever undertaken.

In the past 6 months, I have:

  • Quit my job. As in walked-out-and-never-went-back quit.
  • Started freelancing as a copywriter.
  • AND started working shifts as a caretaker at Kitten Rescue.
  • AND started a weekend job helping a retired professor move his personal library.
  • AND started a contract job in the archives of a movie and television studio.
  • Spent two and a half weeks working at a veterinary clinic.
  • Picked up crocheting again so I can make a “brain beanie” for the upcoming March for Science.
  • Started glass painting again to lower my stress levels…
  • Resumed yoga to help with lower back pain.
  • And adopted a second cat.

I’ve also gotten more passionately involved in wildlife and environmental activism since the latest administration moved into the White House, even going so far as to (*gasp*) call senators and tell them NOT to confirm a head of the Environmental Protection Agency with deep ties to the oil and fossil fuel industries, and NOT to confirm a Secretary of Education that feels the worst thing a student in today’s public school system can face is a marauding grizzly bear.

More on that later, though.

Now while some of the above may sound a bit un-adventuresome (crocheting and glass painting?), the theme of my life for the past 6 months has been a recovery from a downward spiral into professional hell. And much of that recovery has come from resuming hobbies and interests I had let go.

As well as pursuing new ones.

And in the next few weeks, I am hoping to receive an offer for one of two full-time jobs I have interviewed for recently. They are very different jobs from each other, and whichever one I take will mean a big shift in my professional life. I haven’t received the offers yet, but I have already started pondering which one I will accept should I receive both (so presumptuous, I know). And it is in this pondering I saw the need to reflect on everything that has been these past 6 months.

And since I reflect wonderfully through writing, it was time to come back to The Realist Adjusts the Sails.

So I do plan to backtrack… at least as far back as September 6, 2016 when I walked out of my cubicle in the dungeon of the museum I was calling “employer” at that time and didn’t look back. And I will try to chronicle some of those life-shifting moments I have experienced in the months since.

After all, writing it all down will be yet another new adventure. And who doesn’t need new adventures now and again, eh?

About jnglcat21

An aspiring writer who has a deep love for animals, tall ships, books, and anything that is 3,000 or more years old
This entry was posted in Challenging Challenges : Overcoming Life's Obstacles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

